Who we are

The Summer School on Internet Governance is organized by Medienstadt Leipzig e.V. with the support of the University of Aarhus. Medienstadt Leipzig e.V. is a German non for profit organisation and a recognized “At Large Structure” (ALS) under ICANN Bylaws. DENIC (.de) was crucial in launching EuroSSIG in 2007 and is the Golden Sponsor.

Members of the faculty are outstanding international experts from the world leading universities and experienced manages from the Internet community who are active in WSIS, WGIG, IGF and ICANN.

People behind programme and organisation

Wolfgang Kleinwächter, University of Aarhus
Wolfgang Kleinwächter

The EuroSSIG faculty is chaired by Wolfgang Kleinwächter, Professor Emeritus for Internet Policy and Regulation at the Department for Media and Information Studies, University of Aarhus. Previous Academic Teaching includes University of Tampere, School of International Services, American University, Washington, D.C, Halle University, University of Moscow, University of Oerebro and Heilbronn Business School. He is a former member of the UN Working Group on Internet Governance. read more…


Sandra Hoferichter, Medienstadt Leipzig e.V. / Netcom Institut
Sandra Hoferichter

The organisation of the EuroSSIG lies with Sandra Hoferichter. She is a self-employed Internet governance consultant focusing on the strategic development of the multistakeholder process. She is the Secretary General of the European Dialogue on Internet Governance (EuroDIG) which is recognised as the European IGF. She became involved in the Internet governance process in 2006, by organising various Internet workshops and conferences, among one of them was of the International Association of Media and Communication Research (IAMCR) where the idea of Summer Schools on Internet governance was born. In 2010 Sandra was elected as 1 out of the 3 European ALAC representatives, which are representing the interests of the end user at ICANN. Sandra holds a degree in Architecture from the Leipzig University of Applied Sciences.